Bluebird Banana Bread Chai

This tea has been recommended to me several times so, I won’t lie, expectations were high but I was wary.

I don’t have great experience with teas flavoured like other things I really love (see – Salted Caramel Green Tea) as I feel like they don’t deliver 100% on either front. So I approached this with caution, and tried not to hope it would actually taste like banana bread (who am I kidding?).

I’m a loose leaf novice but I do have a mug with an infuser which I’ve been dying to use so this tea presented the perfect opportunity. I even decided to bust out the old milk frother for some extra latte-adjacent texture (I stupidly took video clips rather than photos making this tea so if you’re really interested, check out my insta).

AppearanceĀ 
The tea itself is quite fine and you can see the pieces of banana. When brewing it was quite pale and paler so when I added the milk (but I did add quite a bit).

Smell
It smelled suitably spicy but not very banana-y. However, I was pleased about that because one of my main concerns was that the banana would be strong and artifical tasting.

Taste
How to describe the taste of this tea? Firstly, it wasn’t very sweet (in fact not at all) so I would definitely advise a bit of sugar or honey if you’re that way inclined. The cinnamon came through very strongly which made it quite spicy, verging on – dare I say it – medicinal. The banana was there, as were the other spices, and overall it was an enjoyable chai. But if I’d tasted this blind I don’t think I would have labelled it ‘banana bread’, maybe I’m just a banana bread purist. I’ll be finishing the bag but it’s not my favourite chai to date.

6/10

2 thoughts on “Bluebird Banana Bread Chai

Leave a comment